Thursday, September 12, 2019

8th Grade

Today students learned about the six different types of value. In 7th Grade they learned about one type called highlight, or the brightest spot on a form or object. Today they were introduced to:

  1. Highlight
  2. Midtones
  3. Transitional Light
  4. Core Shadow
  5. Reflected Light
  6. Cast Shadow
Students did a warm up drawing, and created a value scale using charcoal for their medium. Students were to demonstrate all six types of value. 

We then went outside and picked three pieces fruit from the Wildcat Garden so that each student can create their own still life. Students picked a pear, an apple, and a plum. Students will make a large scale drawing of these in charcoal, and will have to demonstrate, and then talk about the six types of value in their work.